External Cooperation

The IPPC recognizes the importance of maintaining strong links with organizations that share common interests. These relationships can range from informal, flexible arrangements to highly defined relationships. For example, the IPPC Secretariat has strong relationships with Regional and National Plant Protection Organizations and works with them to assist contracting parties in implementing the IPPC.

The IPPC Secretariat also cooperates with many other external partners and organizations to create synergy towards achieving common goals. The current partners of the IPPC Secretariat are listed below:

No. Organization Abbr. IPPC Contact Point Partner Org Contact Point
I UN Organizations
1 Biological and Toxic Weapons Convention BWC Mr Artur Shamilov Mr Daniel Feakes
2 Codex Alimentarius Codex Mr Mirko Montuori Ms Gracia Brisco
3 Convention on Biological Diversity CBD Mr Avetik Nersisyan Ms Junko Shimura
4 International Atomic Energy Agency IAEA Ms Adriana Moreira Mr Rui Cardoso Pereira
5 International Maritime Organization IMO Ms Ketevan Lomsadze Mr Alfredo Parroquin-Ohlson
6 International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture ITPGRFA Mr Avetik Nersisyan Mr Kent Nnadozie
7 Ozone Secretariat (UN Environment) Ms Adriana Moreira Ms Sophia Mylona
8 United Nations Environment UNEP Mr Mirko Montuori Ms Niamh Brannigan
9 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change UNFCCC Mr Mirko Montuori Mr Peter Iversen
II International Organizations
10 Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora CITES Mr Craig Fedchock
11 Eurasian Economic Commission EEC Mr Avetik Nersisyan
12 Inter American Institute for Cooperation in Agriculture IICA Mr Descartes Koumba Mr Robert Ahern
13 International Organization for Standardization ISO Ms Adriana Moreira Mr Michael Sussman
14 International Seed Testing Association ISTA Ms Ketevan Lomsadze Mr Andreas Wais
15 Standards Trade Development Facility STDF Mr Brent Larson Mr Melvin Spreij
16 Universal Postal Union UPU Mr Mirko Montuori / Ms Barbara Peterson
17 World Animal Health Organization OIE Mr Jingyuan Xia
18 World Bank WB Mr Craig Fedchock Mr William John Gain
19 World Customs Organization WCO Mr Craig Fedchock / Mr Brent Larson Mr Ozlem Soysanli
20 World Trade Organization WTO Mr Jingyuan Xia / Mr Brent Larson Mr Rolando Alcala
III Industry/NGOs
21 Container Owners Association COA Ms Ketevan Lomsadze Mr Michael Patrik Downes
22 Global Express Association GSA Ms Barbara Peterson Mr Carlos Grau Tanner
23 International Grain Trade Coalition IGTC Mr Craig Fedchock Ms Katy Lee
24 International Olive Council IOC Ms Sarah Brunel Mr Abdellatif Ghedira
25 International Seed Federation ISF Ms Ketevan Lomsadze/Mr Mirko Montuori Dr Souza Richards (Rose)
26 The Europe-Africa-Caribbean-Pacific Liaison Committee COLEACP Ms Sarah Brunel Ms Morag Webb
IV Academia/Research
27 Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International CABI Mr Brent Larson Mr Washington Otieno
28 Centre international de hautes études agronomiques méditerranéennes CIHEAM Mr Deng Arop Ms Anna Maria Donghia
29 Entomological Society of America ESA Mr Deng Arop
30 Erasmus Mundus Programme of PlantHealth Mr Arop Deng Mr Josep Armengol Forti
31 Global Taxonomy Initiative of the CBD GTI/CBD Ms Adriana Moreira Ms Junko Shimura
32 Imperial College Ms Ketevan Lomsadze Ms Megan Quinlan
33 International Pest Risk Research Group IPRRG Mr Denis Allex Mr Alan MacLeod
34 International Association for the Plant Protection Sciences IAPPS Mr Deng Arop Mr Elvis Heinrichs
35 International Forestry Quarantine Research Group IFQRG Mr Brent Larson Mr Michael Ormsby
36 International Society for Plant Pathology ISPP Mr Deng Arop Ms Jan Leach, Ms Lodovica Gullino
37 La Sapienza University of Rome Mr Riccardo Mazzucchelli
38 Phytosanitary Measures Research Group (PMRG) PMRG Ms Adriana Moreira Mr Peter LEACH (Chairperson) and Ms Joanne Wilson (Secretary)
39 University of Florence Mr Deng Arop Ms Laura Mugnai

If your organization would like to cooperate with the IPPC Secretariat, please contact us at [email protected].
Your request should outline the areas of cooperation you think would be beneficial; and provide some background documentation on your organization (Charter, Terms of Reference, website etc.).
Your request will then be submitted to the Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM) Bureau for consideration and you will be contacted in due course.