External Cooperation

The IPPC recognizes the importance of maintaining strong links with organizations that share common interests. These relationships can range from informal, flexible arrangements to highly defined relationships. For example, the IPPC Secretariat has strong relationships with Regional and National Plant Protection Organizations and works with them to assist contracting parties in implementing the IPPC.

The IPPC Secretariat also cooperates with many other external partners and organizations to create synergy towards achieving common goals. The current partners of the IPPC Secretariat are listed below:

No. Organization Abbr. IPPC Contact Point Partner Org Contact Point
1 UN Organizations
1 Convention on Biological Diversity CBD Mr Avetik Nersisyan Ms Junko Shimura
2 Codex Alimentarius Codex Mr Mirko Montuori Ms Gracia Brisco
3 International Atomic Energy Agency IAEA Ms Adriana Moreira Mr Rui Cardoso Pereira
4 International Treaty on Plant Genetic Resources for Food and Agriculture ITPGRFA Mr Avetik Nersisyan Mr Kent Nnadozie
5 United Nations Environment UNEP Mr Mirko Montuori Ms Niamh Brannigan
6 Biological and Toxic Weapons Convention BWC Mr Shoki AlDobai Mr Daniel Feakes
7 International Maritime Organization IMO Ms Ketevan Lomsadze Mr Alfredo Parroquin-Ohlson
8 Ozone Secretariat (UN Environment) Ms Adriana Moreira Ms Sophia Mylona
9 United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change UNFCCC Mr Mirko Montuori Mr Peter Iversen
2 International Organizations
1 World Trade Organization WTO Mr Jingyuan Xia / Mr Brent Larson Mr Rolando Alcala
2 Standards Trade Development Facility STDF Mr Brent Larson
3 World Customs Organization WCO Mr Craig Fedchock / Mr Brent Larson Mr Ozlem Soysanli
4 Inter American Institute for Cooperation in Agriculture IICA Ms Sarah Brunel Mr Robert Ahern
5 World Animal Health Organization OIE Mr Jingyuan Xia
6 International Organization for Standardization ISO Ms Adriana Moreira Mr Michael Sussman
7 Eurasian Economic Commission EEC Mr Avetik Nersisyan
8 African, Caribbean and Pacific Group of States ACP
3 Industry/NGOs
1 International Grain Trade Coalition IGTC Mr Craig Fedchock Ms Katy Lee
2 International Seed Federation ISF Ms Ketevan Lomsadze/Mr Mirko Montuori Mr Dennis Johnson
3 Container Owners Association COA Ms Ketevan Lomsadze Mr Michael Patrik Downes
4 Global Express Association GSA Ms Sarah Brunel Mr Carlos Grau Tanner
5 International Seed Testing Association ISTA Mr Shoki AlDobai Mr Andreas Wais
6 International Olive Council IOC Ms Sarah Brunel Mr Abdellatif Ghedira
7 The Europe-Africa-Caribbean-Pacific Liaison Committee COLEACP Ms Sarah Brunel Ms Morag Webb
4 Academia/Research
1 Centre for Agriculture and Biosciences International CABI Mr Brent Larson Mr Washington Otieno
2 Centre international de hautes études agronomiques méditerranéennes CIHEAM Ms Sarah Brunel Ms Anna Maria Donghia
3 International Forestry Quarantine Research Group IFQRG Mr Brent Larson Mr Michael Ormsby
4 Imperial College Ms Ketevan Lomsadze
5 Phytosanitary Measures Research Group (PMRG) PMRG Ms Adriana Moreira Mr Peter LEACH (Chairperson) and Ms Joanne Wilson (Secretary)
6 Global Taxonomy Initiative of the CBD GTI/CBD Ms Adriana Moreira Ms Junko Shimura
7 International Advisory Group on Pest Risk Analysis IAGPRA Ms Sarah Brunel Mr Alan MacLeod
8 Erasmus Mundus Programme of PlantHealth Mr Shoki AlDobai Mr Josep Armengol Forti
9 International Society for Plant Pathology ISPP Mr Shoki AlDobai Ms Lodovica Gullino, Mr Greg I Johnson
10 International Association for the Plant Protection Sciences IAPPS Mr Shoki AlDobai Mr Elvis Heinrichs
11 Entomological Society of America ESA Mr Shoki AlDobai
5 Resource Organizations
1 World Bank WB Mr Craig Fedchock Mr William John Gain

If your organization would like to cooperate with the IPPC Secretariat, please contact us at ippc@fao.org. Your request should outline the areas of cooperation you think would be beneficial; and provide some background documentation on your organization (Charter, Terms of Reference, website etc.). Your request will then be submitted to the Commission on Phytosanitary Measures (CPM) Bureau for consideration and you will be contacted in due course.