logo IPPC
      FAQ            Log in

European & Mediterranean Plant Protection Organization (EPPO)

SC member, RPPO contact

   Mr. Nico M. Horn

  European and Mediterranean Plant Protection Organization (EPPO/OEPP)
  21 boulevard Richard Lenoir 75011 PARIS FRANCE
  Phone: + 33 (0) 1 45 20 77 94
  Email: [email protected]
  Preferred languages: English
  Website: http://www.eppo.int/
  Date contact registration: 17 Apr 2007

enter image description here


EPPO is an intergovernmental organization responsible for cooperation and harmonization in plant protection within the European and Mediterranean region. Under the International Plant Protection Convention (IPPC), EPPO is the regional plant protection organization (RPPO) for Europe. Founded in 1951 by 15 European countries, EPPO now has 51 members, covering almost all countries of the European and Mediterranean region. Its objectives are to develop an international strategy against the introduction and spread of pests that damage cultivated and wild plants, in natural and agricultural ecosystems (including invasive alien plants); Encourage harmonization of phytosanitary regulations and all other areas of official plant protection action; Promote the use of modern, safe, and effective pest control methods; and provide a documentation service on plant protection. As a RPPO, EPPO also participates in global discussions on plant health organized by FAO and the IPPC Secretariat. EPPO has produced a large number of regional standards and publications on plant pests, phytosanitary regulations, and plant protection products.

The EPPO Website https://www.eppo.int includes further information on the EPPO structure, planned meetings, the list of EPPO Standards, the links to Databases (including EPPO Global Database and PQR) and to publications.

Since 2014, EPPO is hosting Euphresco, a network of organizations funding and coordinating research in plant health more information can be found on the Euphresco website http://www.euphresco.net/


Albania, Algeria, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guernsey, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uzbekistan